SKYFALL!

This morning I ventured into the mysterious far west of Dorset to the village of Marshwood, then down a furlong of humpy bumpy track to Skyfall Farm where West Dorset BKA had decided to hold an auction, a week before ours at Broadmayne!

The bidding had already started before I arrived so I may have missed some bargains/saved some money.  There were only about a score of us bidding on over 100 lots.  I won Lot numbers 34 and 35: National rooves at £3 each; Lot 40: 2 plastic honey bins for £3 the pair; Lot 66: a pack of cut comb containers for £4.50; Lot 75: 11 National brood frames for £4 and Lot 92: a National brood box for £3.50.  I think that was £21 well spent.

The farm overlooks the gorgeous Marshwood vale and I pottered through it on my way home, visiting several churches and climbing to the top of Pilsdon Pen, the 3rd highest point in Dorset.

Meandering down a lane, I saw a couple of hives in someone’s garden so I paused the car and watched them but saw no activity despite the temperature being 12C (approx. 54F) so I visited one of my apiaries a couple of miles from there, at Seaborough.  Mine was inactive too!  I pressed an ear to the side of the brood box and gave it a tap and was a little reassured to hear a buzz in response, but not a very vigorous one.  Last time I visited they had been flying well and taking in pollen at a lower temperature so maybe I should take a peep inside soon.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

