AFB CONFIRMED!

Kevin Pope, the Seasonal Bee Inspector rang me this morning to confirm that I was correct in suspecting American Foul Brood in the hive at Bovington.  I asked him where he thought it came from as there are no other cases recorded in the area.  He said that the most likely source was an unwashed honey jar!  Apparently  94% of imported honey contains AFB spores!

My friend at Bovington will close them up and destroy the bees with petrol this evening and Kevin will burn the contents and scorch the woodwork next week.  I hope I can be there but the diary is crowded as usual.  Then will be some prolonged diary matching with Kevin as he is now duty bound to inspect the rest of my hives on 14 more sites.  I suspect we won’t complete it this year!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AFB CONFIRMED!

  1. api101 says:

    So sorry to hear that, I really hope that the other hives are fine!
    I started keeping bees in 2015 with no major problems, but I’m really scared about AFB.
    Good job noticing that there was a problem in time.

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

