ENCHANTED!

Last night a witch, whom I had never met before, came to my door seeking beeswax for her potions.  Of course, being enchanted by her, I let her have all that I had, including a naturally drawn comb from my top bar hive.  In order properly to educate her as to the background, importance and bee-ufacture of the wax, I sang her my ballad on the life of the worker bee (she joining in the chorus) and read my ekphrastic poem about The Cell.

This evening, a message from her came over the aether to say that a whole coven had participated in potioning and she had sung the song to them and recited the poem and that they had loved the experience; also they were fascinated with the comb.

Maybe this opens up a whole new market! Or is it too risky?

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about 16 hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and have published a book of my own poems : "Bees vs People". I also wrote the chapter on Top Bar Hives in the recently published "Variations on a Beehive" obtainable from Northern Bee Books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ENCHANTED!

  1. Margaret Johnson says:

    Hi Chris, what a great opportunity. The education work fits entirely with witchcraft.
    Witches were/are wise women who were vilified by the church who took over the practice of medicine once they had hunted down those unfortunates who did not agree with their ideas that illness was caused by evil doing. They often lived separately in the areas they could pick the herbs they needed to help people fight the frequent infection from filthy conditions they lived in. Among their medicines were freshly spun spiders webs and honey to heal wounds. the webs were free from dust as they were picked with dew upon them and we now all know of the antibacterial properties of honey through scientific research.
    I hope you benefit too from sharing your knowledge.

  2. I was equally enchanted to meet this fabulous bearded beekeeper so late at night. Generous in spirit and in kind. When i relayed back to the women in th workshop the next day that i had been sung to and entertained as well as supplied with stock they were deeply tickled. I use honey a lot in my practice especially enjoying the medicinal properties of heather honey. Proper magic. I can’t wait to get deeper into the hives. Thanks chris, fi x

  3. Oh dear! I think I may have gained yet another apprentice!

Leave a comment